Day 1 of Summer Quarter: Waiting and the Wrath of Seagulls

Today was the first day of my summer quarter at the University of Washington. I set off for the park & ride and got on the bus with more than enough time to spare…and what happens? The light flanking the entrance to the downtown Seattle transit tunnel refused to shine any color but red for 10 whole minutes for no reason. Even the driver was confused. This means that I missed the bus I wanted to transfer to and had to wait for the next one. However, I arrived on campus with exactly the amount of time I need, thanks to my earliness before.

I set off for the bookstore, where I needed to pick up my textbook that I already paid for, thinking that the charge & hold would save me more time as opposed to locating the textbook and waiting in line. Man, was I wrong. There was only one lady processing the pick-up orders, and when she finished dealing with the first person, she went off to a different counter (whatever that one was for) and spent an unusual amount of time dealing with that customer before returning! So by the time I picked up my giant textbook and bought food, I only had 10 minutes to eat.

Because I was carrying that textbook, I decided to eat outside by the food trucks where I got my food instead of walking into the cafe to find a seat. What a mistake that was. Almost immediately after I sat down, a seagull came over and started glaring at and stalking me, walking around me, longing for my food (and maybe blood).

The evil seagull moments before snatching my food. (UW Red Square)

A few minutes later, I decided to start looking for my lecture hall, so I set down my food to put my things away. Right when I turned away, the seagull lurched forward and snatched at my container of food hard with its beak, dragging it off my textbook. It proceeded to nudge it open and eat it. Great. I barely had any of that food. That evil seagull left me going to class hungry. I seriously did not know that seagulls are so violent. Maybe it was starving. Too bad I didn’t have anything to throw at it before it started eating my food. Overall, not a great day.

~Rinnie

About HPfanRinnie

Taiwanese American, Medical Laboratory Scientist. Fangirl and Asian drama watcher/subber in my spare time. Huge Potterhead, Archie, and Moomoo.
This entry was posted in Life, School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment